Today we also got to go to the 4th year Product Design ‘guru day’ where each student presents the concept around which to base their final project. I got talking to one girl who was hoping to change attitudes to visible (facial and hand) tattoos by presenting them as an art form, and through the mediums of embroidery and ceramics. She encouraged me to work outside my comfort zone, saying that that it’s better to experiment and get it wrong and be memorable rather than creating more ‘normal’ projects and ultimately being forgettable. Having just started her last year and never having worked with ceramics, she still wanted to explore and keep trying something different so got herself a ceramics induction. Despite being new to the trade and surrounded by fine art students, she persevered. This is an attitude I admire and I aspire to be like her.

