Today I was developing my idea for a map that shows a journey and how ones heart rate would change throughout. Initially I had thought I might create a map of a section of Dundee and build it up with little buildings so there where gaps for the streets, down with I could put the heart beat trail.

Above is a sketch of one of the main streets in the centre of Dundee and heart rate information depending on what I was doing at the time.

After my tutorial with my lecturer and the rest of my group, I decided that my own, standard and reasonably typical map approach could DSC_0296.JPGbe developed to be slightly more abstract and much more interesting.
This idea on right would be a spherical map, criss-crossed with streets and small buildings, with the heartbeat trail running up and down the streets. However I thought this idea could get rather complicated and hard to read as a map. It is also difficult to represent any sort of scale in terms of time and progression.
20161027_102527

 

 

 

My second idea was simply to make a single street, (this would minimise the number of buildings I’d actually have to make and enable me to create a more detailed and refined map model), with street furniture that represented certain  events and a meandering heart rate trail that zigzagged the wide street. I decided to move on from this idea however because I wanted a more abstract depiction and a way of more clearly conveying a passing of time and progression along a journey.

 

20161027_104405

The initial sketch for the idea I am going to take forwards is presented on the right. The idea is to take a central pillar with a platform of sorts wrapped around it, onto which would sit small buildings, representations of events and the heart beat trail. I could add time intervals up the side to make the progression of time obvious.

I plan to make my model mainly out of cardboard, a little sheet foam and lots of glue-gun glue. I am really pleased to have developed my idea into something that I find interesting and am eager to start making it.

